MW Weekly

Marcus A. Williams’ Blog

Response #11: Global Blogging

My name is Marcus, with an “M,” so instead of searching through a bunch of unfamiliar countries that begin with the letter “M” I chose to look at what’s happening in the Middle East. I know that’s a region and not a country, but hey at least it begins with the same alphabet as my name. LOL

Anyway, once I picked my “region” I wanted to get more specific and see what the Middle East was blogging about on my favorite topic and my part time career, ENTERTAINMENT! But, I was very disappointed you guys. The Middle East’s idea of entertainment is a heated debate over what run of the mill political campaign is too racy for their families or overall mental and even physical well being. With that being said I won’t knock anyone’s swag however I will ask….ARE YOU FREAKIN’ SERIOUS?!?!?!

No Rhianna and Chris Brown, no Amy Winehouse ….. and worse of all…no Brandy, if ya’ll don’t know how I feel about her, Amo Brandy, aka I love Brandy! Anyway, I  digress, the “entertainment” blogging happening in the Middle East was centered around politics, poverty and riots. But once you put some thought into this you would really not be too surprised about this, considering they third world economy, government and over all life style of the Middle Elast.

What has been the most shocking to me while exploring the entertainment niche in the Middle East is that the UAE is trying to block, YOUTUBE!!! Okay again, I’m going to have a moment…..WHO THE HELL BLOCKS YOUTUBE?!?!?!?!? The video search engine is ranked among the top 10 most popular sites in the UAE and news about its possible censorship has sparked an uproar and I wouldn’t be surprised if the buzz of just blocking it all together had people passing out in the middle of the street. LOL

Racy, okay yes, You Tube can be somewhat racy with the videos that are posted and the provocative comments really doesn’t help. However, it can also very educational with exclusive news feeds and even looking at news reports from other countries. And to add insult to injury what about people who utilize YouTube for their careers, what are they supposed to do??

You know what I can’t take this anymore I need a cup of water, I will see you guys on the next blog.

April 9, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment